Click here to see how our firm is preparing for COVID-19.
close
Contact
How can we help?

    Attorney

    Carrollton First Offense DUI Lawyer

    Our firm represents those who are facing drunk driving charges for the first time. Georgia luckily shows some forgiveness to DUI first offenders so long as the person has no prior criminal history or serious driving offense convictions. If you are facing drunk driving charges, speak with a Carrollton first offense DUI lawyer.

    Will My License Be Suspended After a First Time DUI?

    Most of the time your first DUI arrest will result in the police officer taking your actual driver’s license and giving you a sheet of paper to use for your temporary license. The reason they take your license is so they can report to the Georgia Department of Driver Services that you have been arrested for drunk driving. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will then schedule administrative license suspension proceeding. Within 30 days of your arrest if you do not file for an appeal hearing, your license will be suspended for up to one year. The experienced Carrollton lawyers of The Parian Law Firm, LLC could file your Administrative License Suspension appeal with the Georgia Department of Driver Services and appear at your arraignment for your first DUI offense.

    Ignition Interlock Device Permit and Breath Machines

    Since July 1st, 2017, under certain conditions, you can choose the option of acquiring an ignition interlock device permit with 30 days of your arrest. You have the choice of either a traditional request for an Administrative License Suspension hearing or the choice of the new ignition interlock device limited permit. Our DUI lawyers in Carrollton could discuss the best option for your first case. This is not a choice you need to make without consulting an experienced lawyer.

    What Happens After a First Time DUI Arrest?

    Our firm will file pretrial motions at the beginning of your case with the court to get copies of the evidence that law enforcement provided the to prosecutor. Evidence such as video from law enforcement of your arrest is vital to your case. This details the stop of your vehicle and the approach of the law enforcement officer to your vehicle. These videos detail your physical appearance, your verbal communication to the law enforcement officer, and your performance of field sobriety tests.

    During a first time DUI case, one of our Carrollton lawyers could appear in court on your behalf so you do not have to miss work or school. Our lawyer could appear for your arraignment and enter a plea of not guilty. You will be required, however, to appear for the final court date/ final plea date. If you decide to take your case to trial, you will have to be in court on the days the court schedules your trial. The overwhelming majority of DUI cases are resolved without the need for a bench or jury trial.

    Minimum First Time Drunk Driving Sentence

    The law in Georgia requires as minimum misdemeanor punishments for a DUI First Offense Conviction the following:

    • 24 hours in jail (you can receive possible credit for time served after you were arrested)
    • Suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months (it is possible you can receive a work permit to continue traveling back and forth to your job)
    • 40 hours community service
    • $300 to $1,000 monetary fine paid to the court
    • Mandatory DUI classes
    • Submission to Alcohol and drug assessments/ testing

    These penalties are just the minimum. These do not include missed days from work from court appearance(s) and/or meeting with your lawyer. Additionally, you will likely pay higher car insurance premiums, risk losing your job, be required to tell future employers of your first DUI, and be limited to travel outside of the state or smaller areas. A person is usually charged with felony drunk driving in situations where there were injuries to other drivers, passengers, and pedestrians.

    Other common traffic offenses charged in addition to a first offense DUI case usually include but are not limited to failure to maintain lane, improper lane usage, and lane direction violation just to name a few.  A person arrested/ charged with DUI will usually be given a copy of their citation(s) which will list all of the charges you may face including whether those charges are misdemeanor or felony offenses. A lawyer in Carrollton could help you avoid the penalties after being arrested for DUI for the first time.

    Contact our Carrollton First Offense DUI Attorney

    Our firm is available day or night. One of our Carrollton first offense DUI lawyers could review your case and advise you on what steps you need to take going forward.